Energy Healing: The Chakras

How does knowledge of the chakras benefit you? Why is knowing anything about energetic anatomy important?

Here is the answer- knowledge of your energetic anatomy can improve your mental and physical health.The same way knowing a little about your physical anatomy is important in preventing and healing from disease, understanding a little about your energetic anatomy can go a long way in regards to keeping you healthy.

In every culture and in every medical tradition before ours, healing was accomplished by moving energy.” – Albert Szent-Gyorgyi, Biochemist and Nobel Prize Winner

So how is energy organized in the body?

Well, that depends on which model of medicine you are looking at.

In ancient Chinese medicine, body energy or qi flows through the body in pathways called meridians. Along the meridians they are several spots where we acupuncturists like to place needles; because placing a needle in that spot affects how energy moves through the meridian and this subsequently improves our health.

In ancient Indian medicine body energy or prana flows through pathways called nadis. These pathways connect to several spinning energy centers, and these energy centers are known as the chakras. There are 7 major chakras in the body and each chakra is responsible for organizing specific types of energy.

The root chakra is responsible for energies associated with our ability to survive. The sacral chakra is responsible for energies related to our sensuality and our ability to bond with others. The 3rd chakra organizes energies associated to our will power and digestion. The 4th chakra governs over our ability to express love, to ourselves and to others. The throat chakra governs over our ability to communicate. The 6th chakra governs over our intuition and wisdom and the 7th chakra is the seat of our spirituality.

So think about it.

If any of those areas of your life, for example your ability to survive in the world, seem ‘out of whack’, perhaps learning a little about the associated chakra can improve that aspect of your life.

Look out for further information in the future, specific to each chakra, regarding how you can heal them. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s